Journey

Life: How I Got Here

I thought I’d put up my story for those who may not know me that well:

16130_10151567216484587_1421998940_n Baby Me mamas hand Goofy Party Dress Me and Caleb grocery cart Christmas 1992 Size 9 ladies ring on wrist

!cid__baby%20me 883350_10203492851787078_1681670142973091818_o 601859_10200932060688901_2087125664_n 66752_10151567216784587_1299046616_n

I was born four months early (at 24 weeks–16 weeks early) on April 24, 1991. I grew up in North Carolina. I grew up with 4 brothers, until I was 10 and my sister was born. I love horseback riding, gymnastics, reading, and writing…and being with friends. Though I haven’t done gymnastics since I was 16 and I haven’t been able to ride a horse in a few years…or haven’t taken the time to rather.

Before I was saved I lied to my parents, stole a toy from my best friend, and did the wrong things that little kids do because I was saved at a young age. Growing up in a Christian home I heard the Gospel, the Death, Burial and Resurrection of Christ, and about Heaven and Hell my whole life. When I was six years-old I prayed a prayer asking Christ to come into my heart and save me from living for an eternity in Hell. But one day when I was in between the ages of 8 and 10 I actually realized that I hadn’t trusted in Christ that day, but rather I had just said a prayer. I didn’t need to trust in my parents or my own Church attendance, or my parents faith, I needed to trust in Christ to save me. So one night after a revival meeting, where the message was on Hell, I was laying in my bed and asked Christ to truly save me. I was trusting in Him alone to save me. Romans 6:23 says: “For the wages of sin is death; but the gift of God is eternal life through Jesus Christ our Lord.”. Nothing much changed in my life afterwards, I went to Church on Sunday morning, Sunday night, Wednesday night, and whenever my age group had a planned activity. I am glad that I was “saved” at a young age and that I had the privilege of being born into a home where both my parents were Christians who both had trusted Christ as their Savior.

Since I trusted Christ I have been both away and close to the Lord. There was a time where I drifted away from everyone. I still attended Church and all of the activities but I didn’t really “listen”, I didn’t take notes on the sermons, or really enjoy the activities and services. Also, I have been close to the Lord where I am reading my Bible everyday, praying, taking massive notes during sermons, and talking to my friends about Christ. I would like to think that the times I have been close to God have been more than when I have been away from God, but I don’t think I can say that. I can say that they are about even.

One thing that always makes me remember and notice God’s grace, love, and mercy is my own life. I was born 16 weeks (four months almost) pre-mature, and weighed only 1 pound and 5 ounces. My family was told multiple times that I was not going to live. When I was only a few hours old a practicing doctor was working near where I was laying and accidentally spilled chemicals, she had mixed to chemicals together that you should never mix together, not realizing that the chemicals had spilled where I was. I laid in the chemicals for around four hours. And now because of that I have a third-degree burn scar down my back, splotched on my left arm, both my lower legs, and feet. That isn’t the only thing that happened though. When I was a month old the doctors had to do surgery on my stomach due to a hole caused by a feeding tube, and they apparently didn’t sew me back correctly because the big scar across my stomach is sunk in. Romans 8: 28 says: “And we know that all things work together for good to them that love God, to them who are called according to his purpose.” Everything happens for a reason; my life was spared for a reason. What that reason is I am not sure yet, but I know that there is one. I thank God everyday for my life, it’s not something I take for granted, and I know I wouldn’t be alive without Him.

I was home schooled until my Junior year of high school, when my parents put me into Woodland Baptist Christian school where my older brother was attending. The Christian school was started by my church. They enrolled one of my younger brothers that same year as well. I graduated in a class of 10 people in 2009!

27829_444309878792_553093792_5630633_7024773_n 27829_444309928792_553093792_5630634_6177969_n 10216_1242062898673_1442340604_30701801_7662493_n !cid__0525001659

In 2009-2010 I attended Word of Life Bible Institute in Schroon Lake, NY where I met Jeff on a hiking trip for P.E. in the fall though he didn’t know my name until later. I thank my counselors Ally and Mandy (not sure if that’s how they spell the shortening of their names) from the WOL Island Camp I had attended the summer between high school and WOLBI for being an impact and help in my decision to attend the BI (either Bible Institute or Bridal Institute). I had the chance to see both of them at the BI when I attended and even co-counseled with Ally on the Island the summer of 2010.

266 270

290 295

297 301

309 314

317 334

I married Jeff on September 29, 2012 after 13 1/2 months of engagement and 2 years and 4 of dating– it wasn’t all peachy during that time either. We decided we wanted to have a baby around November of 2013 (ironically I was going to stop birth control that month after finishing that pack of pills but actually stopped after the first week due to me forgetting the pills at home when we went to Mexico on the company trip). Unfortunately, it took us longer to conceive than wanted (almost 2 years). It was very difficult for me as it seemed that everyone I knew was expecting and then expecting again in some cases. I had to keep telling myself that God’s timing is perfect and that He knew what would be best and when we would be ready and what the perfect time would be for us to have a baby. Obviously that time was June of this year–well the expecting part the baby won’t come until around March of next year!

I think that’s all you need to know!

Leave a Reply

